Cheesy Sago Cookies (Biskut Sagu Keju)

12 Feb

Valentines’ is coming so I decided to bake something my busy boyfriend can munch on while he does his work. He loves cheesy stuffs so I chose this over all the sweet and chocolaty stuff that people would usually bake during Valentines’ day. It took me quite sometime to find this recipe as this is an Indonesian cookie & I didn’t know what’s the name for it. All I know is that it’s the cheese cookie from Bengawan Solo.

I finally came across this recipe which adapted the recipe from some indonesian cooking blog.

Since my boyfriend is Indonesian, I chose the original recipe and made some tweaks to my own preference.

I’m really happy with the results 🙂 The taste is very similar to the Bengawan Solo’s Casava Cheese cookies! 😀 It’s buttery, cheesy and it melts in your mouth!

Ingredients 
(Serves approx. 130 cookies)

300g sago flour
70g plain flour
2 pandan leaves
150g butter, soften at room temperature
120g castor sugar
1 egg yolk
90g grated parmesan cheese
50ml coconut milk

Method

1. Preheat the oven to 150°C.

2. Wash & dry the pandan leaves, then cut it into small sections. Mix the sago flour, plain flour & the pandan leaves on a piece of cooking paper. Microwave it on HIGH for 1 minute. Remove from microwave and transfer it onto a new piece of cooking paper, then microwave it on HIGH for another 1 minute. Remove pandan leaves & sift the flour mixture. Set aside to cool.

3. Beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in egg yolk until smooth. (Wet mixture)

4. Combine the wet mixture, sifted flour mixture, grated cheese, add in coconut milk and knead to form a soft dough.

5. Use a teaspoon to scoop the dough and roll the dough it into a small ball, then put them on a baking tray lined with cooking paper. (You can choose to pipe them).

6. Bake for 18-20mins or until done.

7. Remove from oven & transfer to wire rack to cool before storing in air tight containers.

One Response to “Cheesy Sago Cookies (Biskut Sagu Keju)”

  1. mccarl March 12, 2012 at 12:04 am #

    Comment from the bf: This is my favorite cookies so far! it really melts in the mouth and the “cheesy-ness” is just right!! Moreover, its not too dry. After eating half a jar in just one night, I didn’t feel dehydrated 🙂 Rating: 4.9/5.0 =)
    Thanks gf! ❤

Leave a comment